Look ma, no talk!

“Hey, how do I get to Lincoln Park from your house?”

–          Look it up! Or you must have have GPS?

“ Hey, do you know how to use this milk frother?”

–          Look it up, am sure it’s on youtube.

“Hey, can you tell me how to export this to Excel?”

–          Look it up, there’s a demo online.

“Hey, what’s the meaning of ‘joie de vivre’?

–          Look it up, or translate app.

“Hey, I wonder what this song is really about…..”

–          Look it up, there’s a website called songfacts or songmeanings.com.

“Hey, I wonder what games I should plan for the house party….”

–          Look it up, am sure there are sites for that.

“Hey, do you know of a good mechanic in the area?”

–          Look it up, am sure there are plenty of local listings with reviews.

“Hey, I wish you had seen this episode in Game of Thrones, I feel like I need someone to talk to after watching that!”

–          Look it up, am sure there are online forums for that.

“Hey, you know someone I can hang out with in Santa Fe or like get some local tips?”

–          Look it up, plenty of sites offer local insight.

“Hey, that movie with Michael Fassbender and Brad Pitt.. did it come out in 2013 or 2012?

–          Look it up.

“Hey, did you see the rainbow driving home?”

–          Look it up, I posted pictures!

“ Hey, how was your day?!”

–           Look it up, I have been posting about it on twitter all day.

 “With all that looking up to do, I’ll hardly have time to talk to you.”

–          Well then just look up everything…. whyever would you want to talk?

When you are lonely, you really become good at looking things up and really bad at talking.

About inessence1

Barely holding it together, probably on too much coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look ma, no talk!

  1. YRS says:

    the other day i was talking to a friend (in person) and knowing that he is a musician i asked – hey you probably know someone i could learn guitar from? He replies well there are several lessons on youtube 🙂 I say yeah but I need to be in a group setting or else I dont get motivated. He goes okay send me a msg on facebook and I will recommend a friend.
    i agree parents communicating with their kids is taking it to another level. The parents themselves are getting into a habit of looking up everything – one could argue certain lookups could give a better answer – crowdsourcing. Perhaps having a followup conversation after the kid has looked up is better? Hey what did you find? What do you think about it?
    One of the requirements on a privacy class i took was to read papers and discuss them in class – it was engaging and fun – everyone had an incentive to engage (grade!). Its kinda pathetic thought to have to incentivize parents to engage with their kids! 🙂

  2. inessence1 says:

    Sign of times YRS. sign of times. Adapt or crawl under a stone….*sigh*

Leave a Reply

